Whether it’s a friend you’ve fallen out with or an ex you’re trying to avoid, there are a number of reasons you may want to block a contact on WhatsApp.
But how do you know if someone has blocked YOU on WhatsApp?
WhatsApp won’t directly tell you if you’ve been blocked, but there are several important clues to look out for.
Firstly, if you’ve been blocked by a contact, you won’t be able to see their online status, or their ‘last seen’ indicator.
While this doesn’t confirm that you’ve been blocked, if you could previously seen the contact’s online status and ‘last seen’, it’s a pretty good indicator that they’ve hit that Block Contact button on you.
Meanwhile, if you’ve been blocked, you also won’t be able to see any changes to a contact’s profile photos.
If you have a mutual friend with the contact, you can compare your phone to theirs to see if there’s a difference in profile pictures.
Finally, any messages you send will be marked as ‘sent’ but not ‘delivered’, while any calls won’t go through.
If you see all of these indicators for a contact, it could mean that you’ve been blocked – however there are other possibilities.
WhatsApp explained: “We have made this intentionally ambiguous in order to protect your privacy when you block someone.
“Thus, we cannot tell you if you are being blocked by someone else.”